book love

I finally got my hands on a couple books that I’ve been hearing about for a long time. If you follow the same blogs I do, this is all old news, but just in case you don’t, go to your library and check out these books now.

Handmade Home by Amanda Blake Soule of SouleMama

This book contains lots of projects (mostly sewing) to fill your home with love, all made with re-used materials. It has re-kindled my interest in thrifting again, but of course, you can complete the projects with new materials as well. Each project tells you if it is kid-friendly as well. I haven’t made anything from it yet, but I’ve been thrifting and looking at old fabric with new eyes preparing for my first attempt. I can’t decide what I want to make first.

The Homemade Life by Molly Wizenberg of Orangette

This book reads just as easily and warmly as Molly’s blog. It is full of life – its sad, funny, loving, and delicious. I surprised myself by making the first recipe in the book – potato salad. If you read my blog at all, you know I love the sweets. But the story that goes with the potato salad sold me. It was really yummy. This is a cookbook and a memoir. I finally found it in the library and was so disappointed when it was time to return it.

John and I decided to start Netflix again. We are so behind on movies. Any suggestions for us to fill up the queue?

5 thoughts on “book love

  1. Pingback: Valentines Crafts « la petite vie

Leave a Reply

