warning: political views below

Oh, that speech.  Wasn’t it amazing?  I was impressed by so many of the speeches given during the convention, especially of the abilities of the “normal” people to speak in front of that many people.  Impressive.  I know I’m a little late blogging about this, especially considering the Republican convention has already begun, but I had to do it anyway.

Obama’s speech brought me close to tears a couple times.  I felt empowered, inspired, excited.  It has been a long time since I’ve felt that way listening to a politician.  I went into it planning on voting for him, nothing changed, but the feelings I had related not to the election, but to my own life.  He was right when he said this election isn’t about him, but about us and about us working for the lives and the country that we want.  I appreciate so much that he is attempting to find common ground and unite voters on usually divisive issues such as unwanted pregnancy, women’s pay, guns, etc.  We don’t all have to agree on those things and we don’t have to choose our candidate based on one issue alone anymore.  Let’s get beyond that and vote for the person who will work towards a more compassionate world.

When McCain made his comment about middle class people having less than $5 million dollars (this video is an edited version that combines a bunch of dumb things he said, but its the first one I could put my hands on), John heard an economist on NPR talking about the distinctions between middle class & lower class families.  He said (this is paraphrased) that middle class families have to think about decisions to get digital cable or the latest cell phone, lower class families have to think about if they can afford to go out to eat.  Now, this is obviously one person’s opinion on class differences and I don’t agree with it, really, but according to him, we are poor.  We don’t even really think about whether or not we can afford to go out to eat, its more like, what can we afford at the grocery store.  I was a bit depressed about this on and off for a few days.  But I have so much in my life to be grateful for.  I have enough money (hopefully enough for the winter – our heating prices are going up 30-40% from last year!) and we have chosen to live a life a simplicity.  It reminded me of this book:

The Table Where Rich People Sit

The Table Where Rich People Sit

I’ll save you from my thoughts on McCain’s running mate, but you can view John’s blog to see his.

Edited to add:  The link to the conversation of McCain making the $5 million dollar comments is an ad, its a comment that was taken out of context, and I know that.  I only put it up there so people could see what I was referring to. I’m not suggesting McCain really thinks you need $5 million to be rich – maybe just 7 houses though. 🙂

One thought on “warning: political views below

  1. Here, here! I’m proud for our country, that speech was incredible. What has stayed with me the most was his message that we “rise or fall together as a nation.” Not sure if you checked out Michelle’s speech but it was also great, you can watch it on Obama’s site.

Leave a Reply

