um, hi

Yeah, I’m still here.  Been a little busy.  Ruby & I are battling colds.  And I’m re-reading Jim Trelease’s The Read-Aloud Handbook[Edited to add:  I had a request to add this book to my amazon shop.  You can find it there now, in the parenting section.] One of the things I read the other night said that in a study of stay-at-home moms, the mothers spent only 13 minutes of one-on-one time with the child.  I don’t know how accurate this is, but I think I’ve been trying to make up for all these other kids lately.  Ruby has been getting a lot of my attention.  I don’t usually blog when she’s awake, but I do other things, like dishes.  She’s napping now:

AND, I have a Meet Your Maker show on Friday, so I’m busily making a bunch of products, including some new things that I’ll post in my etsy shop after the show.  Oh yeah, AND I’m baking.  The lemon meringue that I made turned out well and I am baking a lemon glaze cake tonight for someone.  Looks like I’m going to be opening another etsy shop for baked goods:  the cooling rack.  It’s not quite ready yet, but maybe in a couple weeks.  I’ll let you know, but if you have ideas for foods I should put up there, let me know!

Here’s our latest CSA haul:

lettuce

chard

basil

leeks

sungold cherry tomatoes

beefsteak tomatoes

gold roma tomatoes

russet potatoes

delicata squash

cameo apples

Last night we ate tomato, mozzarella, basil sandwiches and pretended it was summer.  Tonight we’ll  have chard omelets with rosemary potatoes.  Yum!!

6 thoughts on “um, hi

  1. Ahh..Thursday evening, a glass of wine and I think I can make it through tomorrow. I went to Jim Trelease’s sight, which lead me to the book, Meaningful Differences in the Everyday Experiences of Young American Children. I want to read that…I read an article by the authors, the article was called, The Early Catastrophe, the 30 million Word Gap by Age 3. Which reminded me of the statement i make often…”DIBEL them from birth.”
    Your blog not only entertains me…it educates me. If you come across anything about lead intake from toys made in China and learning problems, please let me know.
    Did you listen to the debate tonight…we did, in a way, David changes the channel each time SP speaks because he is a bit passionate about his dislike for…well, her and her running mate.

  2. I’m glad you’re back – we’ve been wondering where you’ve been 🙂 I just wanted to thank you for yet another profound gift – I’ve been reading about Trelease’s book on his website- which I hadn’t heard of – and absolutely must read this book. It’s right up my alley on so many levels…I was transitioning to teaching reading classes at Lake Howell before I left, I’m now volunteering for United Through Reading, and of course, the most important, ensuring I pass on my love of the written word to Lexi. I just love how everything connects – makes me feel like I’m on the right path. To quote E.M Forrester…”only connect”

    Thank you!

  3. Rebecca – Oh, I miss you. Hang in there. You should come to the show tomorrow night and have another glass of wine there.
    We listened to as much of the debate as possible with a hungry, tired toddler around. I understand the changing channels – there was a lot of eye-rolling going on here.

    Janine – Thanks for your nice comments! They make such a difference. I’ve added the book to the shop, thanks for thinking of it. Let me know what you think.

  4. Megan-

    I enjoy your website. It’s fun to keep up with Lynn’s beautiful grandchild! I guess she’s told you we are teaching together again-it’s nice after all these years.

    I look forward to the day I have my OWN grandchild. I know it’s a ways down the road. My girls are still in school and just not ready but that’s okay-it’s fun to dream.

  5. Hi Mrs. Rankin!
    I’m glad you like the blog. I know my mom “adopted” some grandchildren before she had her own.
    Enjoy the dreaming….

Leave a Reply

