handmade

Ruby was very, very spoiled this Christmas by so many people.  John and I anticipated this, so we decided to each make her one special gift.  John’s gift is amazing.  He made her a play kitchen.  We knew we wanted her to have one, as she loves to help us cook.  I had been searching on Craigslist for months and not coming up with anything.  One day I mentioned this to him and he casually said, “I’ll make her one for Christmas.  I’ll do it during my days off for Thanksgiving.”  And that was it.  He whipped it out, drawing his plans based on some kitchens we liked in a catalog.  Ruby immediately loved it.  She plays with it several times a day and loves to “wash dishes” and “stir pots” while I do too.

dscn3479

I knit Ruby a stocking from Weekend Knitting with Lamb’s Pride bulky Red Hot Passion.  I used a double-strand of yarn throughout and had to adjust the pattern a bit for that, but I’m really happy with the result.  My grandmother knit personalized stockings for  everyone in our family, but she passed away just before I found out I was pregnant.  I had a stocking made by her for my old dog, but wasn’t sure we could fix it up for Ruby.  Someone (distant relative?  family friend?) did though!  She pulled out yarn from the cast-on edge and re-knit it with Ruby’s name.  So Ruby has two stockings now.  So does John.  He has one from my grandma and one from his grandma.  Maybe we’ll alternate each year.

dscn3433

We filled Ruby’s stocking with fruit, a new big kid toothbrush (her first non-baby toothbrush and she loves it) and a couple other things that I can’t remember now.  Just yesterday (stockings are still up, I’ll get them down eventually), Ruby pointed to her stocking, said, “Stocking, boot (she thinks it looks like a boot), apple.”  John and I realized later we should have put a bottle of olives in there.  This kid loves olives.  I love to hear her say, “Ahhhh-liv” and snap her jaw shut.

Leave a Reply

