parenthood

41a3mfev29l_sl210_I began reading this book right before Ruby was born and didn’t quite finish it before it was due back at the library (even after renewing it).  I finally remembered to check it back out again and finished it.  I love this book about mindful parenting.  It is wonderful for all stages of parenthood, as far as I can tell.  It is not a fix-it book, nor is it a book for any specific issue.  The authors, Myla and Jon Kabat-Zinn, wrote this book based on their own experience trying to be mindful as parents.  There are stories that inspire and those that share their struggles as well.  I realize, in some ways, things will become much more difficult for John and I as parents as Ruby ages and becomes her own person more so than she is now.  Hopefully I can hang on to some of the lessons learned so that I can keep perspective on our situation.  I think so many issues surrounding children can be calmed if the adult remembers it is not about them.  Power struggles and hurtful words are not usually meant that way, but more as a struggle to gain independence and freedom.  Obviously, it is our job as parents to maintain boundaries for safe consequences toward independence for Ruby, but, as hard as it will be to remember, it is not meant to hurt us when she wants to separate herself from us.   Please read this book if you are a parent, I think it is wonderful.

This link is for early childhood brain development. It is so interesting to see how children grow and learn the first three years.  This site gives insight into cognitive, emotional, physical and more.  It’s really easy to use and you can gain information quickly or dig deeply if you have more time.

Enjoy.

Ruby practicing yoga.

Ruby practicing yoga.

2 thoughts on “parenthood

  1. would the book be good for a parent of teenagers? I get my feelings hurt quite a bit…I have this quote up on my wall,
    Blessed is the mother who has character strong enough to withstand the thoughtless remarks and resentments of the growing child, for again, in due time, she shall be honored.
    Lenora Zearfoss

  2. I think this book would be great for a parent of teenagers. I’m sure my feelings will get hurt often too when Ruby is that age, its inevitable, but maybe your quote and this book will help.

Leave a Reply

