smock and books

DSCN4302

DSCN4304

I made this little smock for Ruby’s birthday.  I used a pattern from Amy Karol‘s Bend the Rules book and it was great!  It was the first time I sewed on a curve and used bias tape and both went pretty well, for the most part.  I used some leftover fabric from a project my mom made for Ruby when she was born.

imageDB

Unrelated, I read two books recently that I really enjoyed.  I’ve been reading a lot of Mary Oliver‘s work lately and picked Our World at the library which is written by her but is full of photographs by Molly Malone Cook.  It’s beautiful – the photos, the poetry, and the touching love that was evident throughout the book.

images

I love, love, love Maira Kalman‘s books.  I have several of her children’s books that I adore.  I read Principles of Uncertainty in an afternoon and really enjoyed the artwork and little stories she shared throughout the book.

Have any of you read these books?

3 thoughts on “smock and books

  1. Ok this is getting strange. I just made the same smock for Lexi a week or two ago. Except it’s much smaller on her and I’m letting her wear it as summer shirt. I found some really cute fabric and I was gonna make one for Ruby too. It’s adorable and so is Ruby! Got questions about it, cause I ran into some pictures, I’ll email you.

  2. That is the cutest smock that I have ever seen. Your Ruby is absolutely beautiful 🙂

    I also love Maira Kalman. She is so adventurous!

    The Principles of Uncertainty is one of my all time faves!

    I have really enjoyed your blog and look forward to more posts 🙂

Leave a Reply

