baking cookies

I don’t know how or why I’ve waited 31 years to make my own Oreo cookies, but I can tell you, it won’t be that long before I make them again. I made a batch of these as a holiday gift and they were way better than I expected. I added some peppermint extract to the filling to add some extra seasonal flavor. I’m sure they’ll be well received if I can stop eating them long enough to give them away. The cookie part of them is soft, not crunchy like an Oreo is and the filling is indescribable.

I also made this version of thin mints recently that were incredible. They didn’t make it out of the house.  I stored some in the freezer, but who am I kidding? There was no need for that. They disappeared pretty quickly. I can’t seem to find the recipe online, but it was also a Martha Stewart Everyday Food recipe.

Ruby’s loving helping me in the kitchen more frequently. We made an apple tart for John’s holiday party and its pretty obvious how much she enjoyed rolling the dough. After it was in the oven, she went to her play kitchen and did it all over again. She rolled dough, peeled apples, cut butter, and put it in the oven. But she really loved eating it. No pictures of that, sadly. It happened way too fast.

2 thoughts on “baking cookies

  1. Megan,
    These cookies are amazing! Thank you so much for sharing them with us. Matt and I want to wish you, John and beautiful Ruby a very Merry Christmas.
    Thanks again,
    Janel

  2. Pingback: baking together « la petite vie

Leave a Reply

