It’s baking season!

I love, love, love this time of year and even more so with little kids around! I think I’m just so excited to live somewhere with actual seasons, that I am thrilled from the first chilly evenings in early fall to right around after New Year’s. (Then I start to wish there were more holidays to distract us from all the rain.)

We had a little Halloween party and I made a spice cake with cream cheese icing. But we had leftover cream cheese, so of course I needed to make some more cream cheese icing. I mean, what else was I supposed to do with that? John just gave me this book for my birthday, so I tried out my first recipe from it: Banana Walnut Cupcakes with Cream Cheese Frosting. They were almost healthy enough with the bananas and walnuts for me to pretend that they weren’t cupcakes. We shared them with the family that handed down Ruby’s Halloween costume and our neighbor that brought over a bag full of play-doh right when the girls and I were going insane with cabin fever/sugar crashing at the perfect moment.

I tried to pipe the icing on the cupcakes but apparently I put the tip on wrong. The pressure from the frosting pushed the top off and icing exploded all over me and the kitchen. Oops.

I’ve been busy creating new products for my shop and selling them at shows. The new Winter Woods soap is a favorite and I’m so happy to have heart pillows in the shop too.

P.S. There’s still time to get in on the $500 Chronicle Books giveaway!

Leave a Reply

