link love: home blogs

I love our little home. When I first saw it, I knew I wanted to live in it. John couldn’t go with me when I got to go inside the first time, and I put an offer on the house without him (he had seen the outside and we had talked it over before hand, but still…). I love the Craftsman Bungalow style, there are hardwood floors, a window seat, and a built-in china cabinet. I didn’t really see much beyond that on my first visit.

I remember John asking me what the kitchen counters were like and I had no idea. There was wallpaper in a bedroom and I couldn’t describe it. I was smitten and couldn’t see any of its flaws. We have since remodeled our bathroom and put in an old claw-foot tub, which I looooooove. We’ve made cosmetic changes here and there and made this home our own.

But. There are some things I would change if I could. When we bought the house, Ruby was a tiny baby. Now we have two kids and all their stuff. This house is less than 900 sq. ft. Don’t get me wrong, I love having a small home. It’s way easier to maintain, for one thing. I always know what the girls are up to. And I know this is such a first world problem – this complaining of too little house. I appreciate what we have, but I would love a little more. We have one closet that we all share. Our dining room is also our office, library, art/craft room, and anything else we need it to be.

So I flip through design books and visit blogs and dream of just a little more. Here are a few of my favorite home blogs I enjoy over a cup of tea.

Bloesem Kids is, um, all about kids. There are craft projects, decorating ideas, links, giveaways and it is all beautiful with a modern feeling.

Apartment Therapy has lots of resources for small space living. There are home tours, tips to maximize space, and right now they’re holding their annual small cool contest where readers submit photos and layouts of their small homes.

Design*Sponge has a beautiful site with before and afters, resources, and my favorite, the Biz Ladies column, tips for women who run small businesses.

Decor8 is full of inspiration of all kinds for the home. She’s got something for everyone here and it is all gorgeous.

This post took hours to write, I keep getting lost in the blogs I’m linking to! Go enjoy – and tell me, what are your favorites?

All photos compiled by the blogs. Click on the links or photos to visit.

Leave a Reply

