sad faces

Things are a little stressful in our home.

John will be having some pretty major dental surgery on Friday that will involve several days of recovery. Later this year, he’ll have more surgery for the same issue. It’s all related to a car wreck we were in involving a drunk driver years ago, so there are a lot of emotions surfacing. It is his story to tell, and right now we’re focused on John’s recovery. It was a traumatic event for me (I was diagnosed with PTSD and still have a lot of anxiety around driving) so I’m a bundle of nerves right now. I’m worried about John, trying to deal with making his life as comfortable as possible, wondering how I will deal with the girls, and trying to keep going one breath at a time. All I really want to do is curl up in a little ball under my covers and make this all go away.

He’ll be okay, we’ll all make it through, but we’re a little preoccupied right now. Excuse me if I’m away from this space for a bit.

Please send quick healing thoughts his way!

5 thoughts on “sad faces

  1. I saw your tweet about his surgery and assumed it was for something routine like wisdom teeth. Sorry to hear that it’s related to the wreck. I remember you guys telling us about it before and it is totally understandable that this is bringing back many bad memories. Having kiddos is when your dealing with things can make it hard when you just need to process, but they can also be a blessing to help you stay focused in the present reality of how lucky you two are to have survived.

    As for soft foods to feed him: soups, mashed potatoes, smoothies, pudding, noodles, steamed veggies (these are all things Z lived on after her tonsillectomy, we were also supposed to avoid acidic foods).

    best of luck and we’ll be thinking of you all!

    • Thanks, Laurel. You’re so right. The girls are making this trickier to organize and process, but also a welcome distraction. And I was just telling John last night that I’m grateful he’s here!

      Thanks for the food tips – I didn’t even think about acidic foods, good call.

  2. Pingback: content | La Petite Vie

Leave a Reply

