link love: family

Thanks so much for all the love and comments on my last post! You have no idea how helpful extra support is right now.

Ruby has been wanting more time on the computer these days and I think she’s old enough (5 yrs.) that she learn some basic computer skills. Lately she’s been enjoying Sesame Street and Sid the Science Kid.

Ruby loves to read as well so I’ve been looking up some of our favorite author websites that have “behind-the-scenes” information, games, the authors reading the books. It’s been fun for all of us to dig around. Here are some that we’ve been enjoying.

This is Ruby’s drawing that she sent to Mo Willems. It’s posted on his blog!

Mo Willems is our family’s favorite author lately. I wish I had known about Elephant and Piggie books when I was teaching. They are THE BEST books for beginning readers. Ginger (2 yrs. old) can already “read” several of them with us. He is the author of the famous Pigeon (Don’t Let the Pigeon Drive the Bus) and Knuffle Bunny books (the third in the trilogy made me tear up the first 20 times I read it) too. There’s a bunch of fun games on his site including these pigeon games.

Mem Fox has been one of my favorite authors since I saw her at an IRA conference as a beginning teacher. Both of my girls have loved listening to Time for Bed as babies, so she holds a special place in my heart. She has written a fabulous book for adults called Reading Magic that I highly recommend, and her website has great resources for parents and teachers too.

I happened upon Todd Parr’s book It’s Okay to Be Different when I was teaching kindergarten and immediately loved it. I’ve been a big fan ever since. In fact, we had several pages of his The Peace Book framed in Ruby’s room when she was a baby. We gave his The Grandma Book and The Grandpa Book to my parents right before we told them I was pregnant. He’s got some fun activities and snippets of his books on his site. The girls are loving his underwear app that we’ve recently downloaded too.

I had several more sites I wanted to share, but I don’t want to overwhelm! If you like these links let me know and I’ll write another post about other children’s author websites I enjoy. What are your kid-friendly computer games or websites you visit?

 

Leave a Reply

