A Perfectly Kept House is the Sign of a Misspent Life

My to do list is ridiculously long this time of year. I have gifts to make, gifts to buy, a house to decorate, cookies to bake, craft shows to prep for, boxes to ship, soaps to wrap. I love every single one of these things. I don’t want to cut any of it out. But I do want to stay centered during it all and enjoy it.

IMG_2031

A couple weeks ago, we decided to hike in a new spot. Our hikes are pretty slow going and easy, because, you know, we have a two year old. My shoulder was bothering me, but I didn’t anticipate it would give me trouble during the hike. We hiked down the road a bit, then decided to follow a tractor’s path over a hill. We followed that to an elks’ trail which then started to go the opposite way that we wanted to go. We ended up tromping through long grasses and blackberry brambles to get back to the road.

IMG_2032

It was a beautiful place, but by the end of our walk, most of that was lost on me. I was walking ahead of Ruby as she held my hands and leaned on me for support while we both tried to untangle ourselves from the blackberries. She was frustrated, I was sore, it was not pleasant.

IMG_2036

This past weekend after my fun trunk show at Irenes’, I pulled a muscle in my back, which just happened to be near the top of the rods screwed into my spine. I don’t think I need to tell you this was extremely painful. I spent most of the weekend laying on the couch or in bed asleep on pain pills.

Some relaxation is due. I am giving up some things on my to-do list. Even some of those fun things. In exchange, I’m hoping to create more time to snuggle up with my family reading Christmas books next to a crackling fire and a twinkling tree. I probably won’t get around to making an advent calender this year. I might not finish making everyone gifts that I hope to. And I’m okay with that.

I’m reading A Perfectly Kept House is the Sign of a Misspent Life (perfect timing), and am believing in it very much. I’m letting go of some things and savoring others. My body is telling me to and I’m going to listen.

Leave a Reply

